Follow

Configuring Security Groups

A Security Group in Collabspace is a collection of Organization members who are granted permissions to specific features or functionality. For example, the abilities to categorize content or search for categorized content. Security Groups are required before user permissions can be assigned to Record Categories. 

In fact, Record Categories can’t be applied to content at all until permissions have been assigned to them by way of creating Security Groups with members first. See the article on How to Assign Permissions to a Record Category for more details.  

Security Groups created by your Organization can be found by navigating to the Security page in the Records App. The list of Security Groups can be filtered by Title using the filter text field above the grid of entries. If no Security Groups have been created, you will see a blank page with a message prompting you to add one.  

screenshot-34.png

Adding a Security Group 

Security groups rely on users who have already been added to your Organization. Click on the Add Security Group button to display the side panel. 

screenshot-35.png

It helps to use a descriptive enough Title for a Security Group to indicate the type of users who will be members or the type of permissions (or access) those users will have with regards to, for example, Record Categories. 

Note that a Security Group can be saved without any members. This simply means that, when such a Security Group gets assigned, no user will be affected. Members may be added afterwards as well.  

Security Group Membership 

When searching for members to add to a Security Group, Collabspace will rely on the users or AD Groups which have already been added to your Organization and place them at the top of the suggestions list. By default, there will be at least one user – the Organization Administrator – who can be added as a member of a Security Group. If there are not enough organizational users to populate a list of suggestions, then your organization's Active Directory will be utilized to supplement those suggestions. 

See the section on Users and Groups to add more users to your Organization. Simply press the Tab or Enter key or click on a suggested user to include them as a member. Conversely, click the X icon to remove a member or group.  

screenshot-38.png 

Security Groups support AD Groups, meaning that both AD Groups and individual AD Users belonging to an AD Group can be added to a Collabspace Security Group.  

screenshot-37.png 

Clicking Save will first validate whether the specified users or AD Groups are members of your Organization. If they are not members, then the Security Group can’t be saved, and instead will display an error. In this case, remove the user or AD Group which are not organizational members and try again.  

Updating a Security Group 

Click on a row to display a side panel with Security Group details. While the side panel is open, you can continue selecting other Security Groups to see their respective details.  

screenshot-39.png

To update the Title and Description, click the Edit button. 

screenshot-40.png

To find a particular user or group within a Security Group, use the filter feature. Start typing into the text field and any matching members will remain on the screen. Click the X icon to clear the filter when you’re done.  

screenshot-41.png

To add more members, click Add members button. The interface will change and then you’ll be able to search for users or AD Groups. 

Note that, unlike adding members when creating a Security Group, adding members when updating a Security Group immediately updates the membership as you select additional members. The same is true for removing members in this way – click the X icon beside a user or AD Group name and the updated membership will be updated immediately.  

screenshot-36.png

Deleting a Security Group 

A Security Group can be deleted even if it has been assigned to another entity, like a Record Category. Clicking the Delete button will display a confirmation dialog window. 

screenshot-49.png

If an assigned Security Group is deleted, its members will lose whatever permissions have been specified when the Security Group was originally assigned to another entity.  

screenshot-48.png

Whenever an assigned Security Group is deleted this way, the entity it was assigned to (e.g. a Record Category) will capture the dissociation as part of its own audit trail. The dialog window will be slightly different if the Security Group has not been assigned to another entity, since there are no potential repercussions.  

Assigned Security Groups 

When a Security Group has been assigned to another entity like a Record Category, the Security Groups page grid will display a folder with document icon 

screenshot-46.png 

Users can then find out what Record Categories (or other entities) the Security Group has been assigned to by selecting a row and clicking on Assigned Security tab in the side panel. The type of entity and its Title will be displayed, if there are any.  

screenshot-47.png 

View Lifecycle Details for a Security Group 

Select a Security Group and then, in the side panel, click the Lifecycle Details button. A new browser tab will open with the Lifecycle Details page. There you can find all the current properties configured for a Security Group, previous versions and the audit trail. 

screenshot-42.png

Note that the audit for a Security Group does not log the association of that Security Group to another entity like a Record Category. Such audit entries will be present on the Record Category itself. 

Comments