Record Categories are contained within a File Plan. Navigate to the Records App and select a File Plan to view the top level Record Categories. If a Record Category has sub-categories under it, the parent can be expanded by clicking the chevron icon to reveal the next level of children, which may themselves contain sub-categories.
Adding a Record Category
Clicking on the plus (+) icon beside the selected File Plan’s title will display a side panel with all the Record Category user-definable properties.
Code (can be a combination of numbers or letters) must be unique across the whole File Plan, while Title can be the same for different Record Categories regardless of position in the hierarchy.
Check the “Schedule Vital Records review” checkbox if your Organization wants to identify vital records and periodically review content categorized under that Record Category. You will be asked to define the Vital Records review period.
Record Categories with scheduled Vital Records reviews can be identified in the File Plan by a flag icon.
Prevent users from being able to categorize content to a specific Record Category by unchecking the “Allow content to be categorized to this Record Category”. Follow your Organization’s established categorization and retention practices when configuring Record Categories.
Record Categories which have the above option unchecked, can be identified in the File Plan by a locked text box icon.
Adding a sub-category
Collabspace supports multiple levels of Record Categories which can be nested under a parent. Hover over a row and click on the plus (+) icon that is displayed to the right of the title. After filling out the form and saving, a new sub-category will be added in sequence under its parent. You don’t need to expand a parent Record Category to add a sub-category directly under it.
Updating a Record Category
You can bring up the contextual menu by either clicking on the far-left ellipsis icon or right-clicking anywhere on the row itself. Click Edit to display the Record Category user-definable properties panel.
Assigning Permissions to a Record Category
To be able to assign permissions to a Record Category, at least one Security Group must have been created. See the sections on Configuring Security Groups and How to Assign Permissions to a Record Category for more details.
Deleting a Record Category
A Record Category can be deleted even if there are content items categorized to that category. Simply click the ellipsis icon or right-click anywhere on the row for a particular Record Category. In the context menu select Delete.
Users will be prompted with a delete confirmation dialog window. When a Record Category is deleted, the content items will remain categorized under that category. When deleting a parent Record Category, all sub-categories will also be deleted, and content items categorized to any one of those sub-categories will also keep their categorizations.
Note that Content Rule based Policies that are associated with deleted Record Categories will not be applied to any additional content.
Moving a Record Category
Drag-and-drop to move a category. The source, or the category being moved, will be displayed in a blue bordered box that follows the mouse cursor, while the target, or the category being moved to, will be highlighted as a blue row.
Moving a parent category will also move all its descendants, maintaining the original hierarchy. All moved categories which were inheriting permissions from their parent will now inherit permissions from the new parent. If the moved category had custom permissions (ie. broken inheritance), then those customizations will remain.
Tip: To make sub-categories into top level categories (ie. immediately under the File Plan), when moving, hover the cursor over the File Plan title while dragging-and-dropping.
View Lifecycle Details for a Record Category
The context menu for a Record Category contains a Lifecycle Details option. Click it to open a new browser tab with the Lifecycle Details page to view current Record Category properties, all its versions and the audit trail. Refer to the article Using Lifecycle Details for more information.
Under the Audit tab, audit entries are also logged when adding and removing Security Groups from a Record Category or when permissions have been modified on each applied Security Group.