Follow

Configuring File Plans

Accessing the File Plans page

Authorized organization members will have access to the Records App via the menu button in the top left corner.

screenshot-1.png

Members need to be assigned either a Global Administrator or the customized Records Administrator role to access the Records App. 

screenshot-9.png

To access your File Plans, navigate to the Records App via the menu button in the top left corner.   

You will be automatically taken to the File Plan page, where multiple File Plans can be accessed and managed. 

screenshot-10.png

The other navigation option in the Records App is the Security page, which is used to define Security Groups of organization members that are applied to Record Categories. 

Adding a File Plan 

Clicking on Add File Plan button will display a side panel with all the File Plan user-definable properties.  

screenshot-12.png

The File Plan’s Jurisdiction will be defaulted to your Organization’s region. Each File Plan can be applied to one or more regions, allowing you to categorize content based on region-based jurisdictional requirements.  

screenshot-11.png

Record Category Display Format allows you to control how individual File Plans will display their respective hierarchy of Record Categories. 

You can customize the order and the separator glyph (for example, replace “-“ with “/”, or remove it altogether) as long as either one of {CODE} or {TITLE} is included. You can instantly preview the effect of the display format. 

screenshot-2.png

Check “Allow Record Categories to be searchable” to allow users to find Record Categories contained in a specific File Plan by code or title through basic or advanced search. This feature is not currently implemented and will be available at a future date.   

screenshot-3.png

Updating a File Plan 

In case you need to change any of the properties for a File Plan, access the contextual menu by clicking the ellipsis icon beside the File Plan title. Clicking Edit will display the user-definable properties again.   

screenshot-4.png

Deleting a File Plan 

Collabspace allows for the deletion of File Plans, even when there’s content categorized under Record Categories contained within. Deleting a File Plan will also delete all the associated Record Categories. 

Existing categorized content will remain categorized, despite everything being deleted. However, new content will not have the option of being categorized with deleted Record Categories. This also applies to current content being re-categorized – those categories will not show up in suggestions.  

When deleting, the user will be asked to confirm their action. No additional content will be captured by Policies associated with the deleted Record Category. 

deleteDialog_FP.png

View Lifecycle Details for a File Plan 

Another option in the File Plan contextual menu is Lifecycle Details. Clicking this option will open up a new browser tab with the Lifecycle Details page, which is a very useful feature for viewing all the current properties configured for the File Plan, as well as previous versions and the audit trail. See the Lifecycle Details article for more information.

contextMenu_FP_LCD.png

Comments