Once you are satisfied with the basic settings of the Organization, it is time to start adding Users. This should include both the people managing Collabspace as well as basic users, the people who will be using Collabspace to Search and Export Content.
From the Administration Application, navigate to Users and Groups
The Users and Groups page will list all members of this Organization, as well as their current license and role settings. Users can either be added individually or as Azure AD Groups.
If possible, granting Collabspace access to Azure AD will make User Management much easier, as Collabspace will be able to look-up potential users and add AD Groups.
However, in order to grant access, your account must be an administrator of Azure AD. Once access has been granted, adding members becomes much easier. Auto-completion of Users and AD Groups should speed up the entire process. See this article for further information on Granting Azure AD Access.
However, if it is only necessary to add a handful of users at first, it is possible to add users before Azure AD access has been granted. In this case, Collabspace will query the current user's personal contacts list to find users.
Typing in a user's e-mail address will prompt Collabspace to check if it recognizes that user.
Click their name and it will be added to the list. Once their name has been saved, it is possible to type in another user's email address.
Once all of users have been added, it is time to assign their Roles.
A Basic User has access to the Search and Export feature of Collabspace, but will not have access to the Administration App. They cannot add other users or Content Sources. They will also only have access to Search and Export content that they have permission to in whatever Content Source the information originally came from.
A Global Administrator is able to manage all aspects of their Organization, including adding users, content sources, and managing other aspects.
A Custom Administrator can have varying levels of access.
- System Administrators can change Organization details.
- User Administrators can add and update Users. Billing Administrators have access to assign and remove User Licenses.
Discovery Administrator can be applied to any individual user, regardless of their role. Discovery Administrators are able to search beyond their individual security and see all content from all Content Sources. This is an extreme permission designed for Freedom of Information and GRPD Requests and it should not be given lightly. Read more about Security in Collabspace.
Once the Users have been assigned a Role, they can be added.
When a User is added to Collabspace, they will receive an e-mail inviting them to the Organization. There is a default message, but if you wish, it can be customized with the message input at the bottom.
Before you finish managing the Organization's Users, ensure that your own User has been assigned a License as well, as by default, it will have none. You can modify users by selecting them. This is also how Users can be deleted. Note that you cannot modify your own account.
The search and filter will assist with narrowing down the scope of Users if specific changes need to be made.
If you wish to make bulk changes to multiple Users, use the checkbox next to their names.
Any settings that are shared among the selected Users will be displayed, while any settings that are different will appear unselected. Check the desired role for the selected users and click Save to update.
This completes the User Management step of Collabspace configuration. The final step is to attach Collabspace to a Content Source and begin crawling.